Erdgasspeicher Peissen GmbH

VNG Gasspeicher holds 50% of the shares in Erdgasspeicher Peissen GmbH, founded in 2009 as a joint venture together with Gazprom Germania GmbH. The aim is the common development of an underground natural gas storage facility in the "Bernburger Sattel", an area particularly well suited to the purpose due to the presence of salt deposits.
10 caverns are being leached to this end. They will eventually be equipped for natural gas storage and phased into operation. Following a 15 year investment period, an effective storage volume of nearly 600 million m³ of natural gas will become available.

Alongside the caverns themselves, we are installing aboveground facilities for the injection and withdrawal of the natural gas as well as a nearly 37 km long pipeline connecting the facility with the JAGAL gas line.
The new storage facility has been dubbed Katharina, after Russian Tsarina Katharina II, who was born on the 2nd of May, 1729 as Sophie Auguste Friederike, Princess of Anhalt-Zerbst.
The new storage facility will improve the reliability of natural gas supplies for European consumers as well as contribute to covering the growing storage demands in Europe. The facility will be used both to cover seasonal fluctuations in demand as well as improve flexibility in purchasing and sales optimization.

Erdgasspeicher Peissen GmbH

Wir halten 50 % der Anteile an der Erdgasspeicher Peissen GmbH, gegründet 2009 als Joint-Venture mit der Gazprom Germania GmbH. Ziel ist der gemeinsame Bau eines Untergrundgasspeichers in dem besonders geeigneten, durch Salzlagerstätten gekennzeichneten Gebiet „Bernburger Sattel“.
Dafür werden 10 Kavernen gesolt, für die Gasspeicherung ausgerüstet und stufenweise in Betrieb genommen. Nach 15 Jahren Investitionszeitraum soll ein nutzbares Speichervolumen von fast 600 Mio. m³ Erdgas zur Verfügung stehen.

Neben den Kavernen werden zur Ein- und Ausspeisung des Erdgases eine Obertageanlage sowie eine rund 37 km lange Anbindungsleitung zur Erdgasleitung JAGAL errichtet.  
Der neue Speicher trägt den Namen Katharina, womit wir gemeinsam die russische Zarin Katharina II würdigen, die am 2. Mai 1729 als Sophie Auguste Friederike Prinzessin von Anhalt-Zerbst geboren wurde.
Die neue Speicheranlage wird die Versorgungssicherheit für europäische Erdgaskunden erhöhen und dem wachsenden Speicherbedarf in Europa Rechnung tragen. Neben der Aufgabe des saisonalen Ausgleichs wird der Speicherbetrieb zur flexiblen Bezugs- und Absatzoptimierung genutzt.